Cart 0
We Shall Overcome  Songs of the Freedom Riders and the Sit-Ins (1961)  CD

We Shall Overcome Songs of the Freedom Riders and the Sit-Ins (1961) CD

  • $1799

"This item is part of the Folkways archives.  The original liner notes from the LP are included."

This 1961 recording of spirituals, gospel and new music to "express the spirit of freedom" was the result of an effort by producer and performer Guy Carawan to bring together singers representative of hundreds of thousands African American students from the south participating in sit-ins, stand-ins and freedom rides for "first class citizenship" during the civil rights movement. The songs are performed by The Montgomery Gospel Trio, comprised of three high school girls from Alabama, as well as four seminary students who call themselves "The Nashville Quartet" in an impromtu session as recorded by Moses Asch.

12 songs, 34 minutes, featuring liner notes detailing the history of the civil rights movement, pictures, and song lyrics.

1. This Little Light of Mine - 2:18    
2. There's a Meeting Here Tonight - 1:56    
3. Rock My Soul - 2:00    
4. Hold On - 2:42    
5. Let Us Break Bread Together - 2:43    
6. We are Soldiers in the Army - 2:40    
7. We Shall Not Be Moved - 2:26    
8. Your Dog - 2:40    
9. Michael, Row the Boat Ashore - 3:24    
10. I'm So Glad - 2:36    
11. Oh, Freedom - 3:20    
12. We Shall Overcome - 5:35

We Also Recommend