Cart 0
The Sounds of London (1961)  CD

The Sounds of London (1961) CD

  • $1799

"This item is part of the Folkways archives.  The original liner notes from the LP are included."

Recorded in 1968 by Samuel Charters, this album tries to capture a variety of sounds that reflect life in the "heart of England". As Samuel states, London is "more than a city of shabby buildings and narrow streets. It is a city of people, whose lives reflect the variety and color of the life of every part of Great Britain." The album includes not only the sounds of people in pubs and markets, but also marching bands and processions. Liner notes include detailed information about each track.

1. Covent Garden-The Produce Yards at Dawn - 2:32    
2. A Street Piano in Trafalgar Square - 2:23    
3. The Market in Petticoat Lane - 6:04    
4. Street Buskers in Leicester Square - 2:27    
5. The Underground and the Buses - 1:06    
6. A Pub in Shoreditch - 2:39    
7. It's Time, Please Gentlemen! - 0:53    
8. Speakers at Speakers Corner, Marble Arch - 7:25    
9. A Street Band in Charing Cross Road - 2:04    
10. The Changing of the Guard, Whitehall - 2:10    
11. The Lord Mayor's Procession - 3:25    
12. The Armistice Ceremony at the Centotaph - 2:56    
13. Big Ben From Westminster Bridge - 1:17

We Also Recommend