Cart 0
Christmas Songs from Many Lands CD

Christmas Songs from Many Lands CD

  • $1699

Canadian folk singer Alan Mills (1913—1977), who has been featured in dozens of Folkways recordings, is accompanied by Gilbert Lacombe on guitar for a collection of Yuletide music from 15 countries and cultures. Mills chose these particular Christmas carols and "game" songs not only because they are some of his own holiday favorites, but because they depart from the traditional seasonal repertoire. Listeners can look forward to some interesting and beautiful surprises.

Liner notes include a short profile on Mills as well as brief descriptions of each song’s origin and lyrics.

Track Listing:

101 The Angel Gabriel Alan Mills 3:01
102 No Room in the Inn Alan Mills 2:44
103 King Herod and the Cock Alan Mills 1:10
104 The Friendly Beasts Alan Mills 2:13
105 Bring a Torch Alan Mills 1:17
106 Shepherdess, Oh Tell Me Alan Mills 2:22
107 The Huron Carol Alan Mills 2:18
108 Rise Up, Shepherd, and Follow Alan Mills 1:37
109 Mother Mary, What is the Matter? Alan Mills 1:19
110 Mary had a Baby Alan Mills 2:03
111 Little Bitty Baby Alan Mills 4:17
201 Joseph Dearest Alan Mills 2:00
202 O, Christmas Tree (a) Alan Mills 1:54
203 O, Christmas Tree (b) Alan Mills 0:41
204 As Lately We Watched Alan Mills 1:11
205 Haidom-Haidom Alan Mills 0:40
206 Gently, The Maiden Alan Mills 1:11
207 I am so Happy Alan Mills 1:08
208 The Simple Birth Alan Mills 1:46
209 Fum, Fum, Fum Alan Mills 0:53
210 Bagpiper's Carol Alan Mills 2:06
211 Saint Basil Alan Mills 1:45
212 Come and Sing Alan Mills 1:38
213 The Wren Boys Sing Alan Mills 1:52
214 12 Days of Christmas Alan Mills 3:35

We Also Recommend