Cart 0
India: North Indian Folk Music CD

India: North Indian Folk Music CD

  • $1529

“There is not a single aspect of [Indian village] life which does not have its music,” writes Manfred M. Junius is the liner notes of this album. Junius, a lifelong student of Indian classical music and musicology, was commissioned by the International Institute for Comparative Music Studies and Documentation to provide recorded material for this UNESCO series. His selections and lively notes present twelve field recordings of secular and devotional music, drawn from various communities in northern India. The performances feature drums, flutes, and stringed instruments, and may be seasonal, epic, or joyous. Vocals are sung in Hindi or—in the case of “Qawali” and “Sufi Song”—in Urdu.

This album is part of the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music. More than 125 albums are being re-released by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings to make the series publicly available again, including a dozen never-released albums of musical traditions from around the globe.

Track Listing

1. Kajri (Song of the rainy season) - 4:28
2. Hori (Spring song) - 3:50
3. Virha (Ahir song) - 2:35
4. Qawali (Muslim devotional song) - 4:32
5. Dhun on the shahnai - 9:44
6. Flute & mandar - 3:11
7. Chitrakute nija dhare (Sitting sadly in the forest of Chitrakute) - 4:27
8. Phag (Spring song) - 4:10
9. Khanjri solo (Tambourine solo) - 2:15
10. Gari - 3:41
11. Bhajana Devdas Raukatse (wandering Sadhu) - 4:28
12. Sufi song - 3:06

We Also Recommend