Cart 0
Japanese Kabuki Nagauta LAS-7134

Japanese Kabuki Nagauta LAS-7134

Digital Download available from your favorite site including


Download free liner notes below

Part of the Lyrichord Archive Series - Never before released recordings on CD from the Lyrichord vaults

Remastered and newly released for the first time since the 1960s, JAPANESE KABUKI NAGAUTA MUSIC. played by the The Kyoto Kabuki Orchestra, is now digitally available on the Lyrichord Archive Series. Compared with the Japanese Noh play, which developed a few centuries before, Kabuki is secular, realistic, and even somewhat vulgar. The gestures of Noh are condensed and symbolical; its characters abstract and esthetic. Kabuki teems with color and life. Its music is derived from many sources, including shrine and folk music. This recording fully captures and conveys the authentic Kabuki tradition for contemporary listeners to enjoy.  

1. Makuake - 1:18
2. Dojoji (A) - 2:55
3. Dojoji (B) - 8:19
4. Dojoji (C) - 1:53
5. Dojoji (D) - 6:15
6. Shinobi - 1:50
7. Daibyoshi - 1:25
8. Kagamijishi (A) - 5:00
9. Kagamijishi (B) - 3:54
10. Kagamijishi (C) - 11:23
Lyrichord, in association with Multicultural Media, is pleased to present the Lyrichord Archive Series. This new series will make many important Lyrichord recordings of the past available again for the first time in years. These are special-edition compact discs with liner notes. illustrations and photographs reproduced as .pdf files, and included right on the same CD as the audio program. These liner notes can then be downloaded and printed out or saved on any computer. 

The Lyrichord Archive Series is designed with students, libraries, educational institutions, music historians and music enthusiasts in mind and is not available in stores.

We Also Recommend