Cart 0
J.S. Bach: Harpsichord Toccatas - Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue, Praeludium, Fugue & Allegro in E-flat CD

J.S. Bach: Harpsichord Toccatas - Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue, Praeludium, Fugue & Allegro in E-flat CD

  • $899
  • Save $4

Digital Download available from your favorite site including


Download free liner notes below (Mac users use Ctrl + click)

"The overall effect, especially in the atmosphere of transcendence given the final Allegro of the Praeludium, Fugue, and Allegro in E flat major, BWV 998, which seems to proclaim its triumph over the contrapuntal shackles of the fugue, is stunning, and the remastering is there to capture it all. A superior historical reissue."
James Manheim All Music Guide August, 2008

"Valenti's passion and elan is stunning, particularly in his performance of the Toccata in E minor; and his reading of the Praeludium, Fugue, and Allegro is one of the sweetest I have ever heard. If you are interested in harpsichord playing in the 20th Century you will want this recording, and a great many other enthusiasts will like it too."

Time Magazine called Fernando Valenti “The finest harpsichordist in the world”. After studying with keyboard giants Jose Iturbi and Ralph Kirkpatrick he held his first recital in 1950, and the rest of his is forty-year career is music history. This is a landmark historic reissue; Valenti's Bach Toccatas rank among this master's greatest performances ever committed to tape. Not available since the 1950's, these original Lyrichord recordings reside alongside Valenti's legendary Westminster Scarlatti recordings, as examples of a rare and brilliant keyboard genius, the likes of whome are seldom seen in any age. New A to D transfers allow Valenti's Bach to shine anew in the digital domain.

1. Chromatic Fantasy & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903 - 12:30
2. Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911 - 11:24
3. Toccata in D Major, BWV 912 - 13:06
4. Toccata in D Minor, BWV 913 - 15:48
5. Toccata in E Minor, BWV 914 - 8:08
6. Praeludium, Fugue & Allegro in E-Flat Major, BWV 998 - 12:16

Additional Information

Click here to read the complete ALL MUSIC GUIDE review by James Manheim

We Also Recommend