Cart 0


  • $1499
  • Save $10

Download free liner notes below (Mac users use Ctrl + click)

"Taken as a whole, the full collection of three CDs provides a stimulating survey of the place of the oboe in chamber music with a clear emphasis on the twentieth century; and Lucarelli recorded an enjoyable survey of his instrument’s capacity for diverse approaches to expressiveness."
Stephen Smoliar
April 2013

By any measure, Humbert Lucarelli is one of the most revered and acclaimed instrumentalists America has ever produced. He has appeared as soloist with the world’s finest orchestras and chamber music groups throughout the United States, South America, Europe, Australia and Asia. and has performed and recorded with some of the world's leading conductors

In the 1960s and 1970s, Lucarelli recorded three seminal recordings for Lyrichord that have never been reissued. Those recordings were Benjamin Britten’s “Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, Opus 49, and other works, Oboe Sonatas of Hindemith, Poulenc and Saint-Saëns, and Lucarrelli performing with the Lark Woodwind Quintet, the Woodwind Quintet Opus 43, Seranata in Vano, and other works of Denmark’s greatest composer, Carl Nielsen.  Mr. Lucarelli personally oversaw the re mastering of these landmark recordings into the digital domain. Of the project he said,

“These early issues represent an important part of the oboist’s repertoire and gave me my first opportunity to speak. Over the past years I have received many communications from oboists and other musicians who greatly appreciated these performances in their original LP format.”

Lyrichord is proud to make these landmark performances available once again as a Special Collector’s Edition Three CD Box Set!

DISC ONE: Benjamin Britten - Six Metamorphoses, Suite, Phantasy Quartet
with pianist Thomas Grubb and violinist Gerald Tarack.

A landmark reissue of a highly-praised recording by America’s foremost oboe master, the great Humbert Lucarelli.  Here Lucarelli and colleagues perform works by one of England’s greatest composers, Benjamin Britten. Britten’s Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, Op. 49 guides the listener through six vignettes of Britten’s interpretation of Ovid’s wonderful evocation of classical mythology. Though Britten wrote Six Metamorphoses in 1951 for the oboist Joy Boughton, Humbert Lucarelli’s performance of it is legendary, and set a standard for oboe performance still talked about today. Britten’s Phantasy Quartet for oboe and strings, Op. 2, provides Lucarelli with another opportunity for interpretive triumph of Britten; a composer with whom he has such deep understanding and clear connection to. The Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 6 is a special treat in that we hear a tour de force performance by pianist Thomas Grubb and violinist Gerald Tarack. Newly remastered by Lyrichord's Nick Fritsch, in association with Humbert Lucarelli.


Benjamin Britten: Six Metamorphoses after Ovid, Opus 49,
Artists: Humbert Lucarelli, Oboe, Thomas Grubb, violin
Thomas Grubb, piano, The New Art String Trio

01 Pan    2:04      
02 Phaeton   1:26   
03 Niobe   2:11    
04 Bacchus    1:45    
05 Narcissus    2:43   
06 Arethusa    2:13    

Benjamin Britten: Suite for Violin & Piano, Opus 6
07 March   2:46    
08 Moto Perpetuo    2:50    
09 Lullaby (Britten)    4:23
10 Waltz (Britten)    4:52
11 Phantasy Quartet, Opus 2. (Britten)    12:42   

DISC TWO: Oboe Sonatas of Hindemith, Poulenc and Saint-Saëns
with Thomas Hrynkiv, piano

One of Humbert Lucarelli’s finest showcases of his instrument artistry ever recorded, “Oboe Sonatas” is a welcome reissue for Oboe enthusiast the world over. The recording starts with American Paul Hindemith. His two movement Sonata for Oboe and Piano was written in 1938, and has remained a benchmark for oboists ever since. Francis Poulenc’s Sonata for Oboe and Piano (1962) was written during Poulenc’s final year in memory of the Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev, and represents a tour d’ force in oboe repertoire, and also the last work Poulenc wrote. French master composer Camille Saint-Saëns displays his deep affinity for the instrument in Sonata for Oboe and Piano, a work which concludes in a movement of dazzling pyrotechnic virtuosity.

Another French composer of the late nineteenth/early twentieth century is Charles-Édouard Lefebvre, whose Deux Piéces pour le Hautbois, provide a delightful compliment to the demanding and powerful work of Saint-Saëns. Humbert Lucarellli’s legendary Oboe Sonatas album, still serves as a high water-mark in the history of oboe performance. Newly re-mastered by Lyrichord's Nick Fritsch, in association with Humbert Lucarelli.

Sonata for Oboe & Piano, 1938
Composer: Paul Hindemith
01 Munter  4:15
02 Sehr Langsam  8:25  

Sonata for Oboe & Piano, 1962
Composer:  Francis Poulenc

03 Elégie  4:41
04 Scherzo 4:04
05 Déploration  4:28   

Oboe Sonata in D Major, Op. 166, 1921
Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
06 Andantino  3:15
07 Allegretto 5:35   
08 Molto Allegro   2:37

Two Pieces for Oboe and Piano
Composer:  Charles-Édouard Lefebvre
09 Andante 3:40   
10 Allegro 2:34   

DISC THREE: Carl Nielsen - Woodwind Quintet Opus 43 Seranata in Vano, and other works
The Lark Woodwind Quintet

Carl Nielsen (1865 –1931) is arguably Denmark’s most famous composer active at the turn of the twentieth century. Here is a classic reissue of an important Nielsen recording from the 1960s, by the Lark Woodwind Quintet, featuring the great oboist Humbert Lucarelli. All of Nielsen’s woodwind chamber works are included in this classic Lyrichord reissue. Of his eclectic three-movement Woodwind Quintet Opus 43 Nielsen described it as “…now merry and quirky, now elegiac and serious”. The group then explores his light and humorous Serenta in vano, and Nielsen’s’ Two Fantasies, Op. 2, which allow Mr. Lucarelli to wonderfully display the expressive characteristics of his instrument, and chamber pieces from Nielsen’s incidental music from The Mother, Op. 41 (1921). Infused with Nordic sensibility and judicious symmetry, Nielsen’s chamber works are given a majestic and sonorous treatment by the celebrated Lark Woodwind Quintet. Newly re-mastered by Lyrichord’s Nick Fritsch, in association with Humbert Lucarelli.

“While rehearsing the Carl Nielsen quintet for the recording with The Lark Woodwind Quintet, I learned that one of the most important benefits of playing chamber music was that your colleagues challenges, support and inspiration made you play more beautifully than you have ever dreamed was possible” – Humbert Lucarelli


Woodwind Quintet Opus 43 (1922) for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon
Artists:John Wion, flute,  Humbert Lucarelli, oboe,  Arthur Bloom, clarinet,  Alan Brown, bassoon,  William Brown, French horn,  
also Robert Gardner, cello,  Jeffrey Levine, bass,  Scott Nickrenz, viola, Libby Croneberg-Brown, harp,

01 Allegro Ban Marcato    9:37    
02 Minuet    5:02    
03 Praeludium-tema variazioni   12:36  
04 Seranata in Vano   6:48
Artists: John Wion, flute, Humbert Lucarelli, oboe,  Arthur Bloom, clarinet,  Alan Brown, bassoon,  William Brown, French horn,  Robert Gardner, cello, 
Fantasias Opus 2, (1889) for oboe and piano
ARTISTS: Humbert Lucarelli, oboe, Howard Lebon, piano
05 Fantasy One    3:43    
06 Fantasy Two    2:36   
07 Canto Serioso for French Horn and Piano    3:27
ARTISTS; William Brown, French horn  Howard Lebon, piano
Incidental Music from “The Mother” Opus 41 (1920) 
08 Faith and Hope are Playing    1:01   
ARTISTS;  John Wion, flute,  Scott Nickrenz, viola
09 The Children Are Playing     1:32  
ARTISTS;  John Wion, flute,
10 The Fog is Lifting     1:55    
ARTISTS;  John Wion, flute,  Libby Croneberg-Brown, harp

Click here to watch exclusive music video "Water Everywhere".

Humbert Lucarelli's website

We Also Recommend