Cart 0
Dave Van Ronk  The Folkways Years, 1959-1961 CD

Dave Van Ronk The Folkways Years, 1959-1961 CD

  • $1599

Rough, gritty folk guitarist and singer, Van Ronk is one of the genre's most expressive musicians. These 20 tracks represent Van Ronk's best loved material and reveal his original synthesis of jazz and folk. Titles include Willie the Weeper, Come Back Baby, and Yas, Yas, Yas. Van Ronk's handpicked favorites from his Folkways LP's. Compiled and annotated by Kip Lornell and Dave Van Ronk. "...his carefully crafted guitar accompaniments are varied, inventive, and often surprisingly delicate. The reasons for Van Ronk's impact remain loud and clear." -- Sing Out

101 Duncan and Brady
102 Hesitation Blues
103 In the Pines
104 Willie the Weaper
105 Oh, What a Beautiful City (Twelve Gates to the City)
106 River Come Down
107 Careless Love
108 Betty and Dupree
109 Bed Bug Blues
110 Leave Her Johnny, Leave Her
111 Yas, Yas, Yas
112 Please See That My Grave is Kept Clean
113 Winin' Boy
114 Just a Closer Walk with Thee
115 Gambler's Blues
116 Spike Driver's Moan
117 Georgie on the IRT
118 Come Back Baby
119 Black Mountain Blues
120 My Baby's So Sweet

We Also Recommend