Cart 0
Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways CD

Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways CD

  • $1599

Songs of the American labor movement over the 20th century called for just wages, dignity, and a fair shake. They voiced grievances, affirmed the value of the worker to society, and expressed hope for life in a more just world. Classic Labor Songs from Smithsonian Folkways is a collage of these voices—champions of the movement, singing songs with a passion and love for their fellow workers that rings just as true today as it did then. Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Joe Glazer, the Almanac Singers, and more chronicle the history of the American labor movement in stirring song.

Tracks Artist/Performer
101 Joe Hill Paul Robeson
102 Bread and Roses Bobbie McGee
103 Casey Jones (The Union Scab) Pete Seeger and the Almanac Singers
104 We Shall Not Be Moved / Roll the Union On Joe Glazer
105 Roll the Union On John Handcox
106 Cotton Mill Colic Mike Seeger
107 The Mill Was Made of Marble Joe Glazer
108 Aragon Mill Peggy Seeger
109 Talking Union Almanac Singers
110 1913 Massacre Woody Guthrie
111 The Preacher and the Slave Utah Phillips
112 Which Side are You On? Florence Reece / The Almanac Singers
113 Hold the Fort Joe Uehlein
114 Union Maid New Harmony Sisterhood Band
115 Too Old to Work Joe Glazer
116 Black Lung Hazel Dickens
117 Been Rolling So Long Larry Penn
118 VDT Tom Juravich
119 Automation Joe Glazer
120 Im Union and Im Proud Eddie Starr
121 Im a Union Card Kenny Winfree
122 Carpal Tunnel John O'Connor
123 We Just Come to Work Here, We Dont Come to Die Anne Feeney
124 One Day More Elaine Purkey
125 We Do the Work Jon Fromer
126 De Colores Baldemar Velasquez and Aguila Negra
127 Solidarity Forever Joe Glazer

We Also Recommend