Cart 0
Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways CD

Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways CD

  • $1599

War, social injustice, personal plaints, and calls for action have long fueled musical creation and performance. In Classic Protest Songs, Mark Gustafson and Jeff Place tap the historic Smithsonian audio collections to compile 22 songs favored by leaders of antiwar, civil rights, industrial labor, farm worker, and other struggles to air their grievances. Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Janis Ian, Big Bill Broonzy, Pete Seeger, Barbara Dane, Guy Carawan, Phil Ochs, and other marquee artists let their voices ring out with calls for peace and justice. 71 mins, 22 tracks,

32 page booklet.

1 Freedom Now Chant
2 Jesus Christ
3 Bourgeois Blues
4 Black, Brown, and White
5 Baby, I�ve Been Thinking (aka Society�s Child)
6 Blowin' in the Wind
7 This Land Is Your Land
8 Turn, Turn, Turn
9 As Long as the Grass Shall Grow
10 Talking Pay TV
11 Masters of War
12 Waist Deep in the Big Muddy
13 Agent Orange Song
14 Strange Fruit
15 How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live
16 I�m Going to Write the Governor of Georgia
17 When We Make It Through
18 Evicted Tenant
19 Corrido de César Chávez
20 Gone, Gone, Gone
21 Spirits of the Revolution
22 We Shall Overcome

We Also Recommend