Cart 0
The Jewish Immigrant Experience in America CD

The Jewish Immigrant Experience in America CD

  • $1699

Joe Glazer 

Joe Glazer’s musical efforts on behalf of workers and union struggles earned him the nickname “Labor’s Troubadour.” In 1970, he founded Collector Records, primarily to produce records supportive of the struggles of working men and women.

In this 1981 recording before a live audience, Joe commemorates the centennial of the beginning of the mass migration of Jews from Russia to America. Combining narration and song (in Yiddish and English), he tells the story of these immigrants’ experience in America, with an emphasis on the plight and struggles of immigrant workers. The songs range from Yiddish folk songs to union anthems to "Mene, Mene, Tekel" from the hit union musical of 1937, Pins and Needles.

The liner notes provide information about each of the soundtracks.

101 America, America Joe Glazer 4:10
102 Bulbes Joe Glazer 1:27
103 Lidl Fun Goldenem Land Joe Glazer 3:12
104 Rock-A-Bye Baby Joe Glazer 4:10
105 Mayn Yingele Joe Glazer 2:19
106 Di Grineh Kusineh Joe Glazer 5:03
107 Mayn Rue Plats Joe Glazer 4:11
108 Hail The Waistmakers Of 1909 Joe Glazer 7:15
109 Poem of the Triangle Fire Joe Glazer 2:37
110 Anthem of the Ilgwu Joe Glazer 2:08
111 Glory, Glory Amalgamated Joe Glazer 3:16
112 Mottl Der Operator Joe Glazer 3:49
113 The Cloakmaker’S Union Joe Glazer 6:32
114 Brivele Der Mamen Joe Glazer 1:50
115 The Ballad Of Robert Briscoe Joe Glazer 3:05
116 Goodbye Uganda, Israel Shalom Joe Glazer 2:43
117 Mene Mene Tekel Joe Glazer 5:20


We Also Recommend