Cart 0
They Moved My Job to Georgia or Was It Tennessee? CD

They Moved My Job to Georgia or Was It Tennessee? CD

  • $1699

Peyton Hopkins 

Singer/songwriter Peyton Hopkins specializes in hard-hitting labor union songs. He knows the struggles of the worker well; his father was an autoworker in Detroit and participated in the 1937 Ford plant strikes.

Not one to mince words, Hopkins' lyrics are defiant. In this recording, the first of two that he made for Collector Records in the 1980s, he appears before a live audience of workers, and introduced most songs with a few pertinent remarks. He accompanies himself on guitar, playing left-handed, sometimes with mouth harp accompaniment by Lee Roth.

Liner notes provide information on Peyton’s background and philosophy.

101 Minimum Wage Peyton Hopkins 2:39
102 They Moved My Job To Georgia Peyton Hopkins 2:29
103 Down Too Long Peyton Hopkins 3:42
104 The World’s Unwilling Poor Peyton Hopkins 4:18
105 Together We’ve Got Pride Peyton Hopkins 3:50
106 Unlucky Kentucky Coal Miner’s Blues Peyton Hopkins 3:48
107 We Signed Up Billy Beaumont Peyton Hopkins 2:13
108 Stand Up For Your Union While You Can Peyton Hopkins 4:05
109 John Mclaughlin Peyton Hopkins 2:33
110 Silence Ain’t Always So Golden Peyton Hopkins 4:17

We Also Recommend