Cart 0
Iraq: Iqaat - Traditional Rhythmic Structure CD

Iraq: Iqaat - Traditional Rhythmic Structure CD

  • $1529

In Iraq, maqam—a term referring to any one of the rhythmically complex and improvisational melodic modes of Arabic classical music, which dictate pitches, pattern, and song progression—is performed in three distinct regional styles by vocalists, instrumentalists, and mixed drum groups. This compilation of recordings by ethnomusicologist Habib Hassan Touma features various musical genres from Basra Province and Baghdad that provide a glimpse into the varied iqa’at (rhythmic forms) in traditional Iraqi music.

This album is part of the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music. More than 125 albums are being released by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings to make the series publicly available again, including more than a dozen never-released albums of musical traditions from around the globe.


1. Mukhalif - 14:45
2. Iqa´at - 9:52
3. Fann Khammari - 5:05
4. Iqa´at - 8:11
5. Murabba - 4:26
6. Abuziyya - 6:48
7. Mawwal - 3:37

We Also Recommend